Award ยป Cookbook Awards

Cookbook Awards

Considered the gold standard among cookbook awards, the IACP Cookbook Awards have been presented for more than 25 years to promote quality and creativity in writing and publishing, and to expand the public’s awareness of culinary literature.

The 2014 Cookbook Awards deadline has been extended to November 30, 2013!

See the 2013 Cookbook Award winners here.


| About | Categories | Winners | Judging  | Submission Guidelines | Entry Form | FAQ |

The IACP Cookbook Awards honor the authors, publishers, and other contributors behind the best of cookbooks published each year. Being acknowledged as a finalist or winner has become a coveted mark of distinction, in part because of the program's growing list of illustrious honorees, who, over the years, have included Rick Bayless, Mark Bittman, Dorie Greenspan, Thomas Keller, and Julia Child, CCP, among others. The program is also widely lauded as the most selective in the industry due to its two-tier judging process that requires recipe testing in all relevant awards categories. Read more about the program's history.

Last year, the program received over 500 exceptional submissions, and we expect continued growth this year with the expansion of previous categories. 2013 Awards will be given in 18 categories, including the recently updated Culinary Travel category and Professional Kitchens category, with one cookbook selected as the Cookbook of the Year. Three optional awards, the Jane Grigson, Design, and Judge's Choice Awards, may be presented should qualified entrants emerge. A People's Choice Award is also determined by popular vote from among the finalists in each category. The Cookbook Awards are open to both IACP members and non-members. Entries into multiple categories are allowed to provide maximum submission flexibility.

For more information about Cookbook Awards categories, past recipients, judging procedures, and other guidelines, please review the links, above or below, or contact:

Glenn Mack, IACP Director, Awards Program Co-Liaison

Shani Phelan, Member Programs and Operations Manager
Phone: (646) 358-4957; (866) 358-4951


The Cookbook Awards have been formally presented by IACP since 1986, when the Tastemaker Awards dissolved its program after 19 years. Under the guidance of cookbook author Bert Greene and the IACP Board of Directors, IACP assumed custody of the program that year and has since carried the torch. From 1987 to 1990, the awards were presented as the IACP/Seagram Awards, with Joseph E. Seagram & Sons, Inc. sponsoring the program. In 1991, in an effort to expand visibility, IACP chose to present the Cookbook Awards under its own auspices. Julia Child graciously lent her support by allowing her name be associated with the program through a new category to honor the best first cookbook: The Julia Child Award.

| About | Categories | Winners | Judging  | Submission Guidelines | Entry Form | FAQ |


Share |