Award ยป Bert Greene Awards: FAQ

Bert Greene Awards: FAQ

Questions about IACP's journalism awards? The answers are here.

| About | Categories | Winners | Judging  | Submission Guidelines | Entry Form | FAQ |


Q: What are the Bert Greene Awards?
A: The Bert Greene Awards for Food Journalism were first presented in 1991 to honor Bert Greene (1923-1988), a well-known food writer and IACP Board member. They are open to IACP members and non-members, and recognize excellence in food journalism in eight categories: Narrative Culinary Writing with or without Recipes; Culinary Writing about Beverages; Instructional Culinary Writing with Recipes; Culinary Travel Writing, Personal Essay/Memoir Writing, Culinary-based Column, Culinary Writing That Makes a Difference; and Publication of the Year.

Q: When is the submission deadline?
A: The Bert Greene submission deadline is December 31, 2013 at 11:59pm Eastern Time. Supporting materials must be received via email to by January 6, 2014.

Q: When must a submission have been published to be eligible for the 2013 Bert Greene Awards?
A: Only works published in the current (2013) calendar year are eligible.

Q: Do I have to be an IACP member to enter the Bert Greene Awards?
A: No. Any food writer may enter.

Q: Do you accept works published outside the US?
A: Yes, as long as they meet all criteria.

Q: Are works published in a language other than English eligible?
A: Yes, but these entries must include copies of the English translation with the original work.

Q: Are submissions printed as a series eligible?
A: Submissions that were printed as a series in two or more issues of the same publication will be considered as one work and should be submitted as a single entry.

Q: How much does it cost to enter?
A: The fee is $50 (US) per entry for IACP members; $75 (US) per entry for non-members.

Q: How many submissions am I allowed?
A: Contestants are allowed one submission per category, but cannot enter the same work more than once.

Q: What if I'm not sure which awards category best fits my submission?
A: If you have questions about awards suitability, please email Kathleen Flinn at  IACP retains the right to advise the entrant if an article is submitted in an inappropriate category, and may recommend a more appropriate category or categories where the article may be more competitve. However, the final category selection is the responsibility of the entrant.

Q: When will finalists and winners be announced?
A: Finalists will be notified by email and announced prior to the awards ceremony, the date still to be determined. Winners in each category will be announced at the Awards Gala held in conjunction with the Annual Conference, on March 17, 2014.

Q: Can I attend the Awards Gala?
A: Yes! All entrants are encouraged to attend.  The Awards Ceremony and Gala are included in the price of full conference registration, or you may register for the Awards Gala separately if you wish.  To get the latest updates on our 2014 conference in Chicago, click here.


| About | Categories | Winners | Judging  | Submission Guidelines | Entry Form | FAQ |

Share |